The Nigerian Men’s and Women’s basketball teams (D’Tigers & D’Tigeress) have known their group paring for the  2020 Tokyo Games.

In a draw which held in Mies, Switzerland, at Federation of International Basketball Assocation (FIBA) headquarters on Tuesday.

D’Tigers will face World No.3 Australia and the winners of qualifying tournaments in Split, Croatia, and Belgrade and Serbia in Group B.

The other men’s pairings, has Iran, France, USA and the winner of the qualifying tournament in Victoria, Canada in Group A, while Argentina, Japan, Spain and the winner of the qualifying in Kaunas, Lithuania, will do battle in Group C.

D’Tigeress are in Group B, along with USA, France and host Japan. Group A includes South Korea, Serbia, Canada and Spain while Group C is composed of Australia, Puerto Rico, China and Belgium.

Each team plays the other teams in its group once, so all nations have three opening-round games. The top two finishers from each group, along with the two best third-place teams move on to the quarterfinals.

The games which was rescheduled from July 2020, becoming the first Olympics to be postponed due to the outbreak of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic will now begin from July 23 – 7th August 2021.

Facebook Comments Box


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here