The Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVBF) has called up 17 players for the National U21 Men’s camp already opened in Kaduna state.

According to the Hon Famous Daunemigha Chairman Media and Publicity of Nigeria Volleyball Federation, invited players were picked from the previous National U19 Boys Team who won the last African U19 Boys title in Nigeria.

Daunemigha disclosed that the former National U19 Boys handler, Sani Mohammed will be in charge of the National U21 Men’s Team while Suleiman Ajeigbe to be assisted by Suleiman Ajeigbe.

Daunemigha disclosed that the three week training exercise would be strictly for U21 players and that Invited players have been contacted and intensed training has begun.

Michael Abari, AbdulQuadri Jaiyeola, Dhikirullahi Oyedepo, Jerry Kinze, Vincent Mathias and Pascal Ozokoye are some of the products of the National U19 programme that have graduated to the National U21 Team.

The head coach, Sani Mohammed revealed that 90% of the U21 team are integral part of their club sides adding that it will translate into national team performance.

Mohammed said, “I am familiar with all the players in the U21 because I was their coach in the U19 team. I won the U19 African title twice and attended the FIVB U19 World Championship twice; I am optimistic Nigeria will dominate the U21 in Africa.

“Most of the players are key players in their respective club sides, they are fit and ready to make Nigeria proud at the forthcoming African U21 Boys Nations Championships.

The 202 African U21 Boys Nations Championships is scheduled for 12th to 23rd August in Tunisia.


AbdulQuadri Jaiyeola (OFFA VC), Dhikirullahi Oyedepo (OFFA VC), Emmanuel Oko (CNS Spikers), Paul Ogwulumba (Sunshine Spikers), Timothy Ogwulumba (Sunshine Spikers), Peter Mathias (Kada Kings), Paul Mathias (Kada Kings), Michael Abari (Kano Pillars), Jerry Kinze (Nigeria Customs Service), Lucky Pamler (Kano Pillars), Jerry Alex (Kada Kings), Michael Digil (Kano Pillars), Vincent Mathias (COAS Spikers), Pascal Ozokoye (NSCDC), AbdulJelil Abdullah (Nasarawa), John Solomon (Niger Brass), Endurance Afagami (Plateau Rocks)

Facebook Comments Box


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here