Spurs striker is only the third player to score 20+ goals in four consecutive PL seasons
By scoring twice against Everton on Saturday Harry Kane joined an exclusive club featuring two Premier League greats.

The Tottenham Hotspur striker, who netted two times in his side’s 4-0 home victory at Wembley Stadium, moved on to 20 goals for the Premier League season.

In doing so, he became only the third player in the competition’s history, after Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry, to score 20+ goals in four consecutive PL campaigns.

Shearer, the competition’s leading scorer with 260, scored 20+ goals from 1993/94 to 1996/97 for Blackburn Rovers and, in the final season, Newcastle United.

Players to have scored 20+ goals in four consecutive seasons
Player Season Goals
Alan Shearer 1993/94 31
1994/95 34
1995/96 31
1996/97 25
Thierry Henry 2001/02 24
2002/03 24
2003/04 30
2004/05 25
2005/06 27
Harry Kane 2014/15 21
2015/16 25
2016/17 29
2017/18 20

Henry achieved the feat for Arsenal from 2001/02 to 2004/05.

The Frenchman, who is the fifth-highest PL scorer, also achieved the feat the following season, becoming the only player to have scored a minimum of 20 goals in five consecutive campaigns.

Saturday was a double celebration for Kane as he also became Spurs’ leading PL goalscorer with 98 goals.

His brace ensured he surpassed Teddy Sheringham’s tally of 97 achieved in 236 appearances over the course of two spells at the north London club.

Kane has reached his mark in just 138 outings for Spurs, 98 fewer than Sheringham.

Facebook Comments Box


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here