Toni Berekedemo of Brilla FM emerged
sports journalist of the year for radio; Promise
Effoghe of Television Continental (TVC) for TV
sports journalist of the year, the Photo Journalist
of the year award went to Olusegun Aderinto.
The immediate past president of the Nigeria
Table Tennis Federation (NTTF) and a member
of the ITTF Nomination Committee, Wahid
Oshodi was named as the joint winner of the
2017 Sports Administrator of the Year.
The icing on the cake for table tennis on the
night was the naming of Aruna Quadri as the
Sportsman of the Year by the organisers. The
2017 Polish Open champion beat Chelsea’s of
England star, Victor Moses and Nigeria’s national
basketball team captain, Ike Diogu to the gong at
the colourful ceremony in the present of who-is-
who in the Nigeria’s sporting world.
Female wrestling sensation Odunayo Adekoroye
was also named the sportswoman of the year.
Despite losing the biggest award to Aruna
Quadri, Victor Moses was rewarded with the
footballer of the year in the male category
beating off competition from Stephen Odey and
Anthony Okpotu, while star player of the Super
Falcon and Dalian Quanjian FC of China star,
Asisat Oshoala picked up the award for the best
female footballer of the year beating off
competition from Ebi Onome and Rashedat
Ajibade shortly after she won the golden boot
award in the Chinese women league.
D’Tigress Star, Evelyn Akhator was crowned the
ball sport person of the year, after her
performances at the FIBA championship 2017
which steered her team to glory while D’Tigress
were also rewarded by winning the team of the
Presenting the award to the best sport governor
of the year, the organisers admitted it was a
tough call to make between Akinwunmi Ambode
of Lagos state and Emmanuel Udom of Akwa
Ibom, for both have contributed immensely to the
growth of sports in their respective state, hence,
they were both crowned as the sports governor
of the year.
Also, President of the Nigeria Wrestling
Federation and Captain of Team Nigeria to
Canada 1994 Olympics, Daniel Igali was named
alongside Wahid Oshodi as the sports
administrator of the year.
16-year-old golf sensation, Georgia Oboh, picked
up the discovery of the year award while Hannah
Babalola was crowned the special sports person
of the year. Also Odunayo Adekoroye made it
double on the night as she emerged wrestler of
the year which makes her the only athlete to
pick up two awards in the event, while her long-
time coach Akuh Purity picked up the coach of
the year.
Also Nigerian Football Federation, NFF,
President, Amaju Pinnick and Veteran Sports
Broadcaster Fabio Olanipekun were presented
award for special recognition and lifetime

Facebook Comments Box


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here